6QOmKCj_0ZM

As a yoga teacher I like to create a theme for my class once or twice a week. Something that resonates with my heart, something authentic and unique to my students souls… Sometimes a theme for a class comes spontaneously, like an answer from the Universe at that very moment and I just simply have to share it with my beloved students.

To me, my students are the best students in the whole world and I truly love each and every one of them!

This week is about Gayatri Mantra performed by Deva Premal and it’s powerful words and music. Why do I like her performance so much? Most likely because she is simply amazingly great and and her voice is magic, like a soft silky golden sand falling upon you.. Second of all I have met her and Mitten personally once. Years ago I was in charge of organizing their concerts in Saint-Petersburg, Russia and I was lucky enough to be around them… I sensed  the deepest love, appreciation and genuine friendship between them. At that time I was single and I was admired, surprised and questioned: how was that even possible..? They have been married for a while!!!!For more then 10 years!!!! I was at awe of everything about them: their relationship, their attitude towards life, their music, their unbelievable impact on people who got so lucky to get to know them…

Here is the mantra using english alphabet :

Aum Bhur Bhuvah Swah Tat Savitar Varenyam

Bhargo Devasya Dhimahi Dhiyo Yo Nah Prachodayat

The Gayatri Mantra is probably one of the most oldest Sanskrit  mantras known to humanity. It is the prayer to the Sun, the giver of life on Planet Earth. This mantra is about wishing happiness to all sentient beings. There are many translations I found of this mantra but my favorite is written by Swami Bhagavan Sri Satya Sai Baba.

Here is the Meaning of the Gayatri Mantra:

We contemplate the glory of Light illuminating the three worlds: gross, subtle, and causal. We are that vivifying power, love, radiant illumination, and divine grace of universal intelligence. We pray for the divine light to illumine our minds.

It is believed that by chanting the Gayatri Mantra your life will be full of happiness and light.

Who is Gayatri?

Gayatri is the Mother of the Vedas ( Divine Ancient Knowledge).  Gayatri has 3 names:   Gayatri, Savithri and Saraswathi. There are 3 present in one.

Gayatri represents the senses, it is the master of the senses.

Savithri is the master of Prana ( Life Force). Savithri signifies the truth.

Saraswathi is the master of speech.

These 3 represent purity in thought, word, and deed. Gayatri pervades everywhere. It is the Trinity of the senses, the mind and speech.

What  the Gayatri does for you.

Since the Gayatri is the mother of the Vedas, (Knowledge) this prayer fosters and sharpens your ability to learn, it opens your heart towards knowledge and towards expressing your truths. Gayatri has been given to you as a third eye to reveal to you that inner vision by which you may get in contact with your own enlightened YOU. Gayatri will protect your body, make your intellect shine and improve your power of speech.

There are many other benefits of this mantra. I just wanted to focus on the ones which truly resonate with me at this beautiful Friday morning. 🙂

The Gayatri Mantra is a beautiful theme for a yoga class. I have seen how it inspires people who have never felt anything about yoga before, who were very far away from chanting or listening to any mantras… This one is very powerful and finds  the way into the human heart instantly… Melting it… Softening it… Opening it… To the Divine Light in each one of us….

_MG_85191 DevaPremalMiten7

I am wishing Happiness to you!

Thank you for visiting my page.

Namaste!

